Walk away from these nebari?

Drewski

Mame
Reaction score
USDA Zone
8b
Asking for advice from the more experienced pine folks. Are either of these something that will ever get better with time. The first pic is a Japanese White Pine with an ugly graft. Will that graft always be that ugly? The second pic is a Japanese Black Pine. Are those roots fixable with enough time? I’m asking as both trees seemed nice enough up top, until I checked the base. I’d like to get a couple of these pines, but don’t want to start with problem children. 😊

Attachments

• 2C23D191-D4D0-468B-B7C8-899DCD5E433E.jpeg
    2C23D191-D4D0-468B-B7C8-899DCD5E433E.jpeg
    362.2 KB · Views: 166
  • E4F35282-92C6-4F53-8745-07DE0D4D0CEB.jpeg
    E4F35282-92C6-4F53-8745-07DE0D4D0CEB.jpeg
    338.3 KB · Views: 156
Reaction score
USDA Zone
6B
I'm a newbie but I'm going to put an answer in writing so that I can see if the folks who are experienced agree with me, prior to seeing what they have to say... intended to be constructive criticism of the tree, so more calling out the potential faults I see.

Tree 1: I don't love it, the crossing roots in lower right are not ideal. The graft looks problematic in terms of the mismatch between the bark. I don't believe white pines will match that with age, either. There is some movement in the trunk though.

Tree 2: May have some interest. Remove the root that's highest on the trunk and spread the root system when repotting to help further develop the nebari. I suspect folks may say to remove the roots though, the left because of its odd angle and the bottom center because of its girth. There may be something interesting under the surface of the soil looking at the diameter of the trunk as it enters the soil (it looks like it might flare?). If I'm wrong about the flare, the trunk doesn't seem to have much taper, but perhaps you could wrap the lower trunk with wire and let the tree grow around it?

Curious to see how close I get...

leatherback

The Treedeemer