Watering of ficus.

Mortalis

Yamadori
Reaction score
I am a ficus grower. I have been growing for about 5 years now. I grow under florescent lights. I just can't get my soil trees to look as healthy as my hydroponic trees. When I move a tree from hydro to soil it seems to lose vigor. It seems to me that must mean my watering is incorrect. My soil mix is 1 part coconut husk chips to 1 part lava rock. I let my ficus get dry to about half way down in the pot. Should I be letting it go till three quarters dry maybe?

rockm

Spuds Moyogi
Reaction score
USDA Zone
Do you have to grow under lights?

Outdoors is much better for ficus this time of year. I'd also look into you soil mix a bit more. Either the ratio isn't correct, or the ingredients aren't optimal (my money would be on the coconut husk chips...or the half and half combination of them with lava...)

irene_b

Omono
Reaction score
Having never tried the Coconut Husk I would wonder about it...
I have ficus in straight lava without any issues.
Irene

Mortalis

Yamadori
Reaction score
Midnight, retusa, and Burt Davi. No outside is not possible.

Mortalis

Yamadori
Reaction score
Sulk no.. Just not as vibrant as my Hydro trees. How dry do you guys let yours get?

Bonsai Nut

Nuttier than your average Nut
Reaction score
USDA Zone
8a
So you are saying that your hydroponic trees and regular trees receive the same lighting - including intensity and photoperiod - but that the only difference is the soil and the watering?

(1) I assume the root structure for a hydroponic tree is very different from that of a soil tree. Do you let the trees get firmly established in the soil?

(2) Hydroponics provide a nutrient rich mix to the roots - what fertilizers are you using for your soil trees?