Wee Chamaecyparis

Velodog2

Chumono
Reaction score
IMG_1686.JPG Here is a fun little dwarf cedar I've been playing with for about six years. It's less than 4 inches tall and lots of fussy fun to wire with hair-thin copper. I don't really consider it a serious bonsai as the trunk is really way too skinny for the size and style, although the movement is nice enough. As it is with this species and the lack of back budding the branches keep getting longer and will eventually just not work anymore at all with this design, so it's a temporary thing. It's also planted a bit too high in the pot right now and that will be fixed this spring.

I am beginning to think ahead to when the lower branches are too long and considering how to make it into a tiny bunjin.

Velodog2

Chumono
Reaction score
IMG_4836.JPG Well here it is again after a few months of steady growth, a little more wire, and just a little trimming. It's cliche to say the tree looks better in real life, but there it is. I just felt like posting something even if it didn't look that great. It seems I was excessively negative about it in my initial posting. I actually like it quite a bit, and in fact this little thing is the one tree most commented on by visitors to my yard who take any interest at all in my trees.

The right side continues to need to fill in and just generally seems weaker for some reason. It doesn't give me a lot to work with there to create pads of foliage. And the thin trunk will always be thus. Alas. But the root flare is nice. Comments are fine, if anyone has any.

Reaction score
USDA Zone
8b
Ooh, I like it. Maybe remove most of the one section that sticks out the most to the left for a little more balance? Consider rotating to get the other side to fill in more.

sorce

Nonsense Rascal
Reaction score
USDA Zone
Missed this in March!

Velo...I remember reading you are a bit reluctant to share your trees.
Dont be!

Love em all!

That are all what they SHOULD be!

Nice!

Sorce

Velodog2