Went Rogue & It Worked!

Bittenfox

Seedling
Reaction score
USDA Zone
I have failed three times at growing bonsai from seed/grow kits. I am totally new to bonsai except for my umbrella bonsai. I have leftover seeds, so with some from each type of tree, I did what i wanted. Tossed half of ALL varieties in my biggest steel box that came with my Dawn Redwood kit, layered the three different bonsai soils that came with various kits (topped with one kind from my local greenhouse), and just went all willy-nilly. Guess what? I have FOUR seedlings that have popped up and it hasn’t even been two weeks! Yaaaasssss! Hopefully more of the varieties will start popping up also! X your fingers for me! (nope, no idea which varieties are planted where...figure the surprises will keep coming!)2DE61A09-874C-4EC8-B731-C039D399FA4C.jpeg2DE61A09-874C-4EC8-B731-C039D399FA4C.jpeg

Bittenfox

Seedling
Reaction score
USDA Zone
just the top layer is the coarse. believe it or not, my umbrella “tree” is planted in 100% of this stuff. it drains really well, and retains just enough moisture. This coarse stuff also allows me to water the whole box without packing the soil too hard for seedlings to sprout through, and it stays put.

ps: I have a 5th seedling coming through! I think this one is of a different variety.

leatherback

The Treedeemer
Reaction score
USDA Zone
Well congratulation on getting 5 seedlings of 2 different species to germinate.

It is going to be a bit tricky with winter just around the corner for you though!

Bittenfox

Seedling
Reaction score
USDA Zone