What are the easiest species to grow from seed?

Blox

Seedling
Reaction score
So I'm still quite new to bonsai, only started last year mostly (killed some stuff before then). So I have a pretty small collection of trees that are very far from becoming bonsai. Anyway, I was wondering what species I can grow from seed in the meantime. So what species are the easiest? My climate is Mediterranean by the way (hot dry summers and wet winters, basically never gets to freezing temperatures)
Thanks

petegreg

Masterpiece
Reaction score
USDA Zone
6a
Operculicarya decaryi and baobabs grow really very fast from seed, both african natives. And acacias are easy to propagate from seed and grow well too.

Eric Group

Masterpiece
Reaction score
Japanese Black Pine
Grow really easy from seed, damp off after sprouting though so you can lose a few that way. They are coastal trees in Japan, accustomed to mild weather and I have seen them growing in everything from pretty harsh temperate climates with dramatic swings from hot cold all the way down to South Florida where there is one season- HOT. Bet they would do well in your climate and of course they are perfect subjects for bonsai.

I have had mixed success with many other species from seed, and lots of trees can produce varying traits when grown from seed...

hemmy

Omono
Reaction score
USDA Zone
6a
*grocery*

Do baobabs make good bonsai?

Sure, google images has a few. There are some nice fat trunk bonsai in South Africa and Australia. They are vigorous growers, if you can figure out how to overwinter them. My young plant from seed was active in summer and dormant in SoCal "winter", but it slowly started shifting the dormant period and it currently is dormant and probably won't push buds until the end of summer.

Blox

Seedling
Reaction score
Maybe pomegranate? They grow very easily from grociery store fruits. I honestly have no idea.

Welcome though!