What are these "buds" on my Japanese White Pine?

Adamantium

Mame
Reaction score
USDA Zone
7a
Pinecones? Next year's candles? Pollen pods?

I'm brand new to pines. Sorry if this is a dumb question.

Attachments

• DYMiViq - Imgur.jpg
    DYMiViq - Imgur.jpg
    335.8 KB · Views: 87
  • BhdV8OL - Imgur.jpg
    BhdV8OL - Imgur.jpg
    275.9 KB · Views: 124

petegreg

Masterpiece
Reaction score
USDA Zone
6a
Right, buds set for next spring.

Nybonsai12

Masterpiece
Reaction score
USDA Zone
7a
As stated, they are next years buds. Gotta pic of the whole tree?

Adamantium

Mame
Reaction score
USDA Zone
7a
Here you go ^^

Attachments

• IMG_0451.JPEG
    IMG_0451.JPEG
    513.6 KB · Views: 118
  • IMG_0449.JPEG
    IMG_0449.JPEG
    516.9 KB · Views: 106
  • IMG_0448.JPEG
    IMG_0448.JPEG
    506.1 KB · Views: 90
  • IMG_0446.JPEG
    IMG_0446.JPEG
    497.3 KB · Views: 84

Adamantium

Mame
Reaction score
USDA Zone
7a
Next years buds. RIP imported JWP.....we had a good run, until I killed you!:(:(:(:(

New to Pines? JWP not the best to learn on...:D
Wuh oh. How'd you kill yours? Can only avoid killing it by learning what not to do.

Adair M

Pinus Envy
Reaction score
USDA Zone
7a
It looks like there are tall buildings all around. Will it get any sun? Pines need sun.

Adamantium

Mame
Reaction score
USDA Zone
7a
It looks like there are tall buildings all around. Will it get any sun? Pines need sun.
There are, indeed. We’re in Manhattan. Upper East Side. It gets a solid 5+ hours of direct sunlight from 10-3, and indirect sunlight the whole day.

I’ve had it for going on 5 months now. Old growth is yellowing from stress last year, but new growth seems pretty robust, as best I can tell. And getting new buds like this seems like a good sign, no?

Nybonsai12

Masterpiece
Reaction score
USDA Zone
7a
It really wants full sun all day long. New buds are a good sign but for long term health you want full sun.

Adair M

Pinus Envy
Reaction score
USDA Zone
7a