What bonsai can I get for my office that will ONLY see Florescent lights?

tomee638

Seed
Reaction score
USDA Zone
5b
Total newbie to Bonsai:

If possible, I'd like to get a bonsai that will sit on my desk. I have no sunlight but I have a 2' long florescent light that is about 3' off my desktop that I'd like to put the tree under. Anyone know if that will be enough for a tree to live? If so, which variety?

I was reading somewhere that a Fukien Tea I think can do fine only one hour of sunlight a day. I was thinking, if I had it under this light for 7 hours a day, maybe that would be enough?

If that won't work with any variety, does anyone know how a T5 or T12 bulb would affect MY skin after sitting under it for a work day? I've also considered that, but I don't want a sunburn or something on my mouse hand...lol

Thanks guys! First post, loving this forum!

october

Masterpiece
Reaction score
Welcome tomee638.. If you want an honest answer, none. No tree will flourish or like sitting on a desk in an office. You might be able to get away with a ficus. However, the tree will never really be that healthy. Bonsai are just like the trees in nature. They need air ciculation, sunlight and a period of rest. If you are looking for soemthing for your desk, maybe more of a house plant..a bamboo or a Z plant.

Rob

JudyB

Queen of the Nuts
Reaction score
USDA Zone
6a