What can I do with this Japanese Maple (Acer Palmatum Atropurpureum)

ahmedakram

Seedling
Reaction score
USDA Zone
8-9
Hey, so I'm new to Bonsai and I've been through quite the articles and videos and wanted to get some hands on experience. I'm a huge fan of maples and saw this one on an online site and was thinking of buying it since it's fairly cheap.

Some of my questions are:
- would this work as a bonsai? (I think the answer is "anything works for a beginner" right?)
- Can I repot it and wire it at this time of year? and if not both, is one of them acceptable?

I live in London, UK. and our weather currently is averaging around High: 23 Celsius, Low: 16 Celsius, however it's all over the place, last few weeks we were averaging 30s

I intend to keep in my balcony outside where I have both east and south exposures.

s-l500.jpg

leatherback

The Treedeemer
Reaction score
USDA Zone
Looks like a decent enough plant.

Important factor would be whether it is grafted (So, is the plant used for the roots different from the foliage). This *can* create ugly transitions & differences in bark: Not something you would want for bonsai.

Repotting: no.
Trimming: Yes, but be carefull: We are over the peak of daylength and slowly plants are thinking about winter. I think you are still a good 3 months away from winter so you can consider the basic pruning.

I would however not do this alone. Find someone near you with experience so you can sit down and do this together.

All the videos make it look easy. But.. If you do not know what you are doing, it is easier to do the wrong things than the right things!

Shibui

Imperial Masterpiece
Reaction score
USDA Zone
9?
No to repotting during the growing season for maple but I trim all year round.
Japanese maple is not quite as responsive as the trident maple but still used a lot for bonsai. Whether this one will make a good bonsai is entirely up to you.

sorce

Nonsense Rascal
Reaction score
USDA Zone
Welcome to Crazy!