What can I do with this JBP?

Dingobattler

Seedling
Reaction score
USDA Zone
Greetings from Melbourne,

I'm pretty new to bonsai. Picked this JBP up, seller said it was about 4-6 years, grown in the ground, but meant for bonsai. The trunk diameter is around 9cm (3.5") and the nebari is roughly 14cm (5.5"), and there's nice taper. I'm happy with the trunk size, and don't aim to grow it any bigger at all. He did a trunk chop just before the third whorl, 40cm (15") high, diameter at roughly 4cm (1.5") Tree seems very healthy and vigorous, on the stronger branches, there are places where there are up to 4 candles. However, on the weak areas,

What I originally had in my mind is the sterotypical JBP Miyogi, massive trunk, pads, and a tapering S curve. However, there are issues with this tree. The branches are only growing extremely strongly on a single plane. On the other plane, one side is completely bare (as per the photo), and the other side is extremely weak, choked out almost completely. There are a few small buds on the bare side.

Even worse, the only direction with a curve and the thickest nebari has the strong branches facing forward and back (as outlined in red below)

The options I can think of are:

1) Use one or the forward facing branches (circled in red) on the second whorl as the new leader. Issue is that IMO (hoping for some feedback here), its a bit too thick to wire upwards, and the trunk behind it is blocking it? (Not sure how far down I can cut the trunk? I'm afraid the the dieback will kill the second whorl). I'll use the secondary branches off the new leader to create my new branches. Cut off the other thick branch facing to the rear. Issue is lack of healthy branches sideways on the first whorl. That'll create nothing but bare trunk for the first 20cm, which looks bad.