what qualities whould you look for in collecting wild material?

thailand-steve

Yamadori
Reaction score
here in the tropics there are a lot of trees and shrubs growing in the jungle and the side of the road that i can't find a name for but maybe are good bonsai material. so i was wondering what order of importance would you place on selecting wild material?

to me (as a total beginner), i would say, in this order of importance:

1. small and interesting leaf size and shape
2. potential for old gnarly looking trunk with lots of movement
3. interesting surface root potential
4. interesting overall shape of mature tree (low and wide versus tall and slim)

i put the leaves at no 1 because although i realize you can reduce leaves to some extent, i'm sure there is a limit to that. for example, i think mango would be bad choice because of the big leaves but tamarind is a great choice for the small, nice leaf.

i put surface roots low on the list because i think that is somewhat optional, not all mature trees have them anyhow. and the overall shape of the mature tree is at the bottom because in bonsai, you can manipulate that.

but what do you experts think?

edprocoat

Masterpiece
Reaction score
USDA Zone
Until an expert chimes in I will give my 2 cents worth!

Most important would be the trunk.
After that,

First, before leaf size I would be more interested in the structure of the leaf growth. I would want to see if they were compound type leaf groups like palmately compound or pinnately compound, or the IMO better, more favorable simple leaf. The simple leaf type has 1 leaf growing from the branch and usually forms a bud at the base of that leaf. The simple leaf type ramifies more readily and is better for leaf reduction. The palmately compound leaf is like 5 leaves joined at the base that flare out. The Pinnately compound leaf is many leaves on a single rachis, or stalk from the branch. These are like cypress leaves and willow etc.