What should I do with clearance tree I bought?

Darkskywalker

Seedling
Reaction score
USDA Zone
4A
I am brand new to the hobby, I just started in January. I don't have much of a green thumb, so any help is appreciated. So far I have a few sprouts, but I found this tree clearanced at Walmart. I believe it is a Ficus. Any advice on what I should do with it? How should I go about trimming it up? Should I repot it first? The gravel on top seems to be glued in there🤔. Any tips please, and remember I am a newbie.

Attachments

• 20210307_144018.jpg
    20210307_144018.jpg
    112.9 KB · Views: 56
  • 20210307_144042.jpg
    20210307_144042.jpg
    119.8 KB · Views: 45
  • 16151525161541972843525999148277.jpg
    16151525161541972843525999148277.jpg
    117.3 KB · Views: 58
Reaction score
USDA Zone
6a
Cool find!
When I got my first big box tree my head was spinning with what I going to do first then after that ............so on
Thank fully I am also a bit indecisive and I learned the best thing I could do was to learn from the tree. How much sunlight and how it reacts, how much water and how it reacts you get the point. The gravel is more than likely glued :) it’s all good, the roots don’t look all bound up so you have time to learn a bit!
Do what ya will but one thing I’ve learned is patience and a few trees sacrificed their lives and well some still do to be honest😉
If ya get an itch cut a branch or two and see what it does.
But always be sure to enjoy yourself and your trees!

Leo in N E Illinois

The Professor
Reaction score
on the IL-WI border, a mile from ''da Lake''
USDA Zone
5b
Take your time, gather together materials. Read about bonsai potting medium. Acquire a wider, more shallow pot, and sometime this summer repot this tree. In the mean time the first thing I'd do is scrape off that glued on pebble layer and throw it out. You can top up with potting soil at least until you are ready for a proper repotting.

Shibui

Imperial Masterpiece
Reaction score
USDA Zone