What should I do with this Chinese juniper stricta?

Tntthunder

Yamadori
Reaction score
USDA Zone
5b
Hello, I am very new to bonsai (a few weeks) and recently came to acquire a Chinese Juniper stricta that a neighbour was throwing away. I had to cut a lot off as it was dead and the tree seemed pretty unhealthy.
I plan to let it gain its strength and so on but after that I am clueless.

I mainly grabbed it cause "free plant" aspect or the possible practice element of looking after plants or possible future styling.

I'm not sure how I should style it once it gets stronger, when to repot it as the soil seems pretty compacted under the top soil etc.

Haven't cometely finished removing all the brown needles yet either. It is pretty tedious and prickly lol.

Attachments

• IMG_20220822_175235.jpg
    IMG_20220822_175235.jpg
    271.7 KB · Views: 55

sorce

Nonsense Rascal
Reaction score
USDA Zone
I wouldn't worry about styling as much as keeping it alive until you kill it to learn things.

Welcome to Crazy!

Sorce

Tntthunder

Yamadori
Reaction score
USDA Zone
5b
I wouldn't worry about styling as much as keeping it alive until you kill it to learn things.

Welcome to Crazy!

Sorce
Oh I will, I plan to try and let it grow for a few years but after that I have no clue. It is just so straight, seems to be very inflexible at the trunk and even at the trunk it has multiple bits coming out.

So this question is more out of curiosity and such. Like a "what is even possible with this?" type of thing.

Just looking for interesting opinions/outlooks from experiencenced people

Wires_Guy_wires

Imperial Masterpiece
Reaction score
Don't keep it indoors. That's a good start. ;-)

The stricta variety is pretty strong in my opinion. In the sense that it can take a beating as long as the roots are alive.