What should I do with this trident maple?

Dingobattler

Seedling
Reaction score
USDA Zone
Hello from Melbourne, I'm a beginner in bonsai, I've been reading heaps, and want to know what I should do with this trident maple I picked up. Done in a formal upright style. It seems to have great trunk diameter (about 5cm) and nebari with lots of root flare. Taper seems very nice, other than a slight bump in the middle. It's exactly the height I want it too, roughly 30cm.

Where it really lacks heavily is lower branches, which it completely lacks. From reading up, I've come up with 2 processes which I need to do. Just want some guidance.

1) Encourage it to back bud - I've just done heavy pruning to it (photo is post prune), as I heard the pruning, especially near the top will encourage back budding? Is this the way to do it? I've even removed a second trunk near the top, where it's hidden at the back.

2) repot into a training pot to encourage vigour to the lower branches, especially since the mid level branches are strong. Not sure if this is necessary?

Not sure if I need to do anything else. Appreciate everyone's guidance. Thanks! 272280

BunjaeKorea

Omono
Reaction score
USDA Zone
7a
Branches thicken as they grow longer and accumulate foliage. It comes as a reaction to support more weight. By letting the lower branches grow out and restricting the top growth you will get thicker lower branches.
It is hard to see the core struxture of the tree. Can you take some more pictures?
Melbs weather is great for these so you should have something good in as little as 3 years if you play your cards right.
More pics please

Shibui

Imperial Masterpiece
Reaction score
USDA Zone
9?