What to do with Hinoki Cypress?

QuantumSparky

Shohin
Reaction score
USDA Zone
6b
My first attempt at working on nursery stock (I'm also a novice in general). I'm struggling to come up with a plan for this tree. Most branches are opposing each other and there are not many direct 'front' or 'back' branches. The trunk also turns into a fan of sorts.

Any suggestions for styling/branch selection? I'm not sure what styles are common for this tree and I haven't seen any Google Image examples of any similar tree with similar trunk structure near the top. I've done minimal pruning so far just to get a look at the trunk and I think I'll let the tree recover for the remainder of the growing season and then tackle hard pruning next spring. 20210626_164434.jpg20210626_190201.jpg

D

Deleted member 32750

My first attempt at working on nursery stock (I'm also a novice in general). I'm struggling to come up with a plan for this tree. Most branches are opposing each other and there are not many direct 'front' or 'back' branches. The trunk also turns into a fan of sorts.

Any suggestions for styling/branch selection? I'm not sure what styles are common for this tree and I haven't seen any Google Image examples of any similar tree with similar trunk structure near the top. I've done minimal pruning so far just to get a look at the trunk and I think I'll let the tree recover for the remainder of the growing season and then tackle hard pruning next spring. View attachment 383011View attachment 383012
I recommend watching Bjorn Bjorholm’s free YouTube video on Hinoki

Bonsaidoorguy

Chumono
Reaction score
USDA Zone
8b
Unlike a juniper don't clean out the interior of a hinoki. They don't backbud on old wood so the interior growth you have, is what you're going to have to play with.