What to do with my Cherry (Prunus serrulata)

Bigmanryan

Seedling
Reaction score
Hi i'm quite new to bonsai and decided to get started this spring.

My plan is so far buying some (what i think) are nice-looking nursery stocks that I deem to have some potential and then starting my journey from there.

The specific tree I brought home is a Prunus serrulata which I've read make alright bonsai trees.
I'm however not sure what to do from here. I'm planning to do some heavy pruning and then pot the plant in a bonsai pot, but I'm afraid of pruning a way that I regret.
I've attached some pictures of the tree and then some pictures with different prunings I consider doing. I am hoping that someone in here could help me to decide if the direction I'm taking makes sense.

I've drawn two lines on the trunk in one of the attached pictures showing two different ways I envision the tree taking shape. I personally like the higher cut better, but perhaps my entire approach is wrong?

PossiblePrunes.jpg

Attachments

• view1.jpg
    view1.jpg
    297.8 KB · Views: 29
  • view2.jpg
    view2.jpg
    311.3 KB · Views: 29

leatherback

The Treedeemer
Reaction score
USDA Zone
Note that you have a grafted plant; never allow growth to develop below the grafts.

I would probably nurse that small side-branch down low. Repot now and work on the roots. Let the top of the tree extend quite a bit (This will build the trunk up a bit more). Thenin 2 years chop it back, and develop the small side-branch into your main tree.

Chopping now will gt you a very small tree, which I think would be a shame. 2 years full growth with what you have might double to triple the trunk in diameter.

Canada Bonsai

Shohin
Reaction score
@Bigmanryan welcome to Bonsainut!

Nice tree! In your sketches, the cuts you want to make can be good ideas, because they will introduce movement and taper. You might want to hold off for now though, and just get a feel for the tree in its first year.