What Tools do you bring when collecting?

barrosinc

Masterpiece
Reaction score
USDA Zone
9b
reciprocal saw
pruning scissors
shovel
small spade
sometimes (I don't know what you call it) a sort of long rebar with a point at the end.

michaelj

Chumono
Reaction score
USDA Zone
10a
I have a long master list somewhere. I'll find that and post it. At a minimum, however, I bring:
A shovel, reciprocating saw and folding hand saw, loppers, water, sphagnum moss and heavy duty black trash bags.

armetisius

Chumono
Reaction score
USDA Zone
Sharp-shooter landscaping shovel;
folding saw; pry-bar; sharp lopping shears;
good sharp knife; water; plastic sheet/bags;
pre-dampened peat; sack lunch/human
hydration materials in whatever flavor/type
desired.

Dav4

Drop Branch Murphy
Reaction score
SE MI- Bonsai'd for 12 years both MA and N GA
USDA Zone
6a
Somebody bigger and stronger then me;).

In all seriousness, a hand held saw, heavy duty branch loppers and a come along have helped me immensely when digging established landscape material. Fwiw, a lot depends on where and what you're collecting.

Last edited:

barrosinc

Masterpiece
Reaction score
USDA Zone
9b
More like bar A (depends if digging zone is close to parking area) (maybe called digging bar??)
55e946ec4a276f956fab050da47e.jpg

Nwaite

Chumono
Reaction score
USDA Zone
More like bar A (depends if digging zone is close to parking area) (maybe called digging bar??)
55e946ec4a276f956fab050da47e.jpg
Ice chisel.

A hand saw.
What ever shovel the kids didn't take.
A small garden shovel an the ones with 3 prongs. Like a big fork.
Big snips for the roots.

And if I'm right around my own place the chainsaw.

Oh ya and the 2 most manly hands you have ever seen!

GrimLore

Bonsai Nut alumnus... we miss you
Reaction score
USDA Zone
6b