What types of bugs are these?

pinosilvestre

Seedling
Reaction score
Hello.

Can anybody tell me what bugs are on this Fukien Tea Tree?
I have tried with the Neem oil, twice, but with zero results. Any advice would be appreciated.

Thank you in advance.

39B9938D-E0B1-4EC4-B09A-279E2C6D3B7A.jpeg

HorseloverFat

Squarepants with Conkers
Reaction score
USDA Zone
5a
Those are mealy bugs, friend.

That LOOKS like a Bougainvillea, but I am VERY unfamiliar with Carmona.

If NEEM isn't working, your "schedule" is probably 'off'

You could spot treat with Isopropyl, Also...

Or dunk your tree for 12-24 hours...

Or... If the infestation gets out of control, use systemic.

🤓

pinosilvestre

Seedling
Reaction score
I soaked the tree with Neem oil twice 7 days apart.

Sorry for asking but what does “dunk your tree for 12-24 hours” mean?
I’m really new to plants in general.

HorseloverFat

Squarepants with Conkers
Reaction score
USDA Zone
5a
The NEEM schedule I run... Is basically every 2-3 days for 2 weeks ... This covers all the incubation/growth stages for fungus AND bugs.

Dunking your tree, is basically like it sounds... Submerging trees underwater... Bugs can't breathe that water (I couldn't shoot the water, so a prisoner I was taken, DANGIT, JENNY! 🤣)

NOW I do not know if CARMONAs will handle dunking... If you do THAT one, wait until someone knowledgeable about Fukien Tea chimes in.

pinosilvestre

Seedling
Reaction score
Thanks a lot.

I have Permethrin at home that I use when I go hunting. It looks like it works with mealy bugs.
Have you ever used it on plants?

Reaction score
USDA Zone
5b
Mealybugs are the worst. My succulents have struggled with then two winters in a row after moving indoors. Insecticidal soap will kill many of them in contact, but you’ll have to keep at it since they bury themselves deep in leaf axils. 70% isopropyl alcohol works as a spot treatment (or spray drench if your plant can tolerate it).

gjones_42

Yamadori
Reaction score
USDA Zone
5b