What were your stupid beginner mistakes ?

Njyamadori

Chumono
Reaction score
I’ve had bonsai trees for only 2 years and found out that I think it could be my passion this summer. I had made many mistakes and wanted to know what yours are !

Wires_Guy_wires

Imperial Masterpiece
Reaction score
I didn't use google 🤣

But in all seriousness, I've been playing around with plants since 2004. My biggest mistake was to forget about that "The best time to plant a tree is twenty years ago".
Second biggest was to yank one of the best yamadori trees I've ever seen from the dirt without thinking, then seeing the root system and thinking it wouldn't survive, so I put it back. Then a year later, it was happy and alive and when I snuck out in the night to go and get it, someone else seems to have taken it.

Reaction score
USDA Zone
6B
I've kept bonsai for a few years so I'm still new.

Impatience is a good one to call out. That one always gets me.

Maybe being too precious about trees? Trees are going to die, especially when you first start with them, or change dramatically over the years. I like hands on learning and my early attempts at wiring and shaping were really poor, but I'm getting better. Getting too hung up on This One Tree That Needs To Live Forever makes it harder to be willing to experiment and make mistakes to learn from such as these.

So I suppose another mistake would be trying to make a lists of mistakes to avoid. Which is sort of trite, but it's true, I'm starting to learn.

PA_Penjing

Chumono
Reaction score
USDA Zone
6b
Waiting wayyy to long to take my first bonsai class/workshop. it's really intimidating and it sucks to be the least talented guy in the room (and I'm used to that!) but it instantly makes you and your trees better. Countless awesome dudes have told me the same thing. The second they sought out classes their art leveled up. Going to shows is important too, but not as important IMO.

BobbyLane

Imperial Masterpiece
Reaction score