When to carve apple?

GailC

Omono
Reaction score
USDA Zone
4-5
I have one hell of a ugly apple stump that needs some carving this year, dead and live wood. When is the best time for this? I'm assuming its once its woken up but before it leafs out?

discusmike

Omono
Reaction score
USDA Zone
7a
I'm no apple expert but if it were mine it would depend on how vigorous the tree is,dead wood I wouldn't be to concerned with time,but live wood I would do it in spring when buds are pushing n the tree is full of energy,I would not repot n do heavy branch pruning at the same time,I would do the repot the following spring and I wouldn't go all out chain saw massacre the first time carving if the tree was one of my better trees,but that's just me,others may have a different view.

GailC

Omono
Reaction score
USDA Zone
4-5
Thanks.
Most of the carving will be on dead wood but some live will need to come off to make a chanel for water to drain. It won't be extreme or deep, at least not for now.
I repotted last year, did quite a lot of root work at the same time so this year is just gets to grow.
It was a freebie so no loss if I screw up but it is my favorite.

Stan Kengai

Omono
Reaction score
USDA Zone
7a
Apple is odd in that it scars heavily if cut while growing vigorously, and does not heal well if cut in dormancy. In my climate, I try to balance this by pruning at the end of strong growth, at the end of summer. Here this is mid September, then slower fall growth lasts until mid October. I'm sure your climate does not afford this 2nd or 3rd growth period.

Maybe, try cutting in a slow growth period, and then scarring during an active growth period. I would heavily advise consulting someone familiar with your growing conditions, as they are vastlyt differently than mine..

themug

Seed
Reaction score
USDA Zone