When to collect young English oaks?

Fonz

Chumono
Reaction score
USDA Zone
8b
Next to where I live is a piece of land that recently changed owners. The new owners want to clean it up completely before building a house on it. On taht piece of land is a 100+ year old English oak. They're going to cut it down. There are also a bunch of young oaks on it, probably 3-4 years old. I found 2 that seem to have some potential. Now because I've been enjoying the big oak for as long as I've lived here I want to save some of it (sentimental stuff). So is it possible to dig out the 2 little oaks with potential and put them in a 5 gallon container this time of year? Their leaves recently styarted to change color so I'm guessing their sap flow is still pretty active now...

Wires_Guy_wires

Imperial Masterpiece
Reaction score
I have no experience with fall collection of oaks, but spring worked best for me compared to summer.
I'll need 2 years to reduce the tap root as well.

Fonz

Chumono
Reaction score
USDA Zone
8b
What do you guys use as as soil for these collected youngsters? I have some bags with akadam/pumice mix. Or should I add some organics as well?

GGB

Masterpiece
Reaction score
USDA Zone
7a
I had some quercus rober (robur) that I have since sold, but .. I always did my root work in the fall, around october 30th and never lost a tree. They were all pretty young, maybe around 4/5 years. If they were older/nicer I may have done it in spring but I first did fall root reductions out of need. I have read that fall is a great time to do it and since I had success I just kept doing it then. didn't lose a single tree. started with 13, sold 12 and hit one with the lawn mower. It's alive now but these things grow so slow I ignore it

Wires_Guy_wires

Imperial Masterpiece
Reaction score
I use pine bark, peat (tuinturf) and inorganics at almost equal portions. It seems to work well.

Fonz

Chumono
Reaction score
USDA Zone
8b