Where to obtain decent Shimpaku stock in the Portland area.

Alkaid

Seedling
Reaction score
USDA Zone
8b
Hi all, I am new to bonsai and have purchased a few small ten dollar starter plants. I am however interested in having something to work with now, and not in 5 years. Here is a picture of a nice little Shimpaku that one day might become a decent bonsai.

DSC_0506.jpg

This is sort of where I am at right now in my progression as a bonsai artist. A bunch of little trees in the ground.
Anyway, I was wondering if anyone in the area can direct me to some Shimpaku stock a little more substantial. I know I could try my hand turning these little cheap trees into Shohin and honestly if this is the route I should take as a beginner I can accept that.

bonsaitodd

Seedling
Reaction score
USDA Zone
7b
Depending on how much you want to spend, but Telperion farm has good stocks for a god price.
http://www.telfarms.com/
You will have to email him for pics.

capnk

Mame
Reaction score
Alkaid,
We're just down the road, 22 miles east of Salem.
Have a couple hundred shimpaku in various sizes and stages of development.
Come for a visit.
Email me at tfarms@wvi.com
Or, call the cell 503-881-1147.DSC_0551.jpgDSC_0563.jpg

Bonsai Nut

Nuttier than your average Nut
Reaction score
USDA Zone
8a
This is sort of where I am at right now in my progression as a bonsai artist. A bunch of little trees in the ground.

A really good start, though :) Every year when I clean up my trees in the Fall, I take a couple of small trays of cuttings. I always end up with five or six nice small shimpaku that I pot up. It is amazing how many shimpaku you can end up with if you keep striking cuttings from them every year :)

jkd2572

Masterpiece
Reaction score
USDA Zone
Capnk what else do you specialize in?

buddhamonk

Chumono
Reaction score