Where would you take this upright pro nana?

wharf_rat78

Seedling
Reaction score
USDA Zone
8a
New to this forum so I’m sure someone will nudge me if it’s the wrong place to post this or if I’m breaking some other norm. Maybe third year of progressively getting into bonsai so I’m new to this too.

I grabbed this procumbens at a nursery last year and have not done anything other than attempt to rescue it from a severely neglected rootbound state and start trying to work it into bonsai soil (slowly reducing root mass and bare-rooting by quarters yes I know it looks like crap but I’m terrified :))

I suck at vision and design sensibility but love messing with the plants and learning.

Looking for any input as to where some of you would go with this material (other than the compost bin)!

Attachments

• 0F540EFE-4BEB-4742-BE9D-F642F763C3F6.jpeg
    0F540EFE-4BEB-4742-BE9D-F642F763C3F6.jpeg
    312.5 KB · Views: 96
  • E7029E30-9DC7-45F8-896F-069F14809B6B.jpeg
    E7029E30-9DC7-45F8-896F-069F14809B6B.jpeg
    312.4 KB · Views: 92
  • 39518705-237C-46C5-9A79-B6CABBC560F9.jpeg
    39518705-237C-46C5-9A79-B6CABBC560F9.jpeg
    309.6 KB · Views: 90

Adamski77

Shohin
Reaction score
USDA Zone
8/9
It’s not a bad tree looking at what I can in terms of base and trunk but needs to be 1/3-1/2 of current size to be proportional… than the bottom branches need to get shorter too. There is this gap on the trunk… this is where it has to get shorter. And build branch structure from there…

wharf_rat78

Seedling
Reaction score
USDA Zone
8a
It’s not a bad tree looking at what I can in terms of base and trunk but needs to be 1/3-1/2 of current size to be proportional… than the bottom branches need to get shorter too. There is this gap on the trunk… this is where it has to get shorter. And build branch structure from there…
Yeah I was debating whether to chop the top and work with bottom, or keep the top and do some kind of literati. Thank you!

Srt8madness

Omono
Reaction score
USDA Zone