Which bonsai tree

bubba1992

Seedling
Reaction score
Hi guys, I've recently moved from Australia to Manchester England. I've decided I'd like to get a couple of small indoor bonsai's to green up my room a little bit.

I messed around with bonsai's a little bit as a kid, but I'm still a complete beginner. I'm renting a double room in a spare house, which is where the bonsai will be kept. I'm just wondering what kind of trees you guys would recommend, as its quite cool in England at the moment , and not a lot of sunlight (especially in my room).

Looking for some thoughts and advice possibly from people who live in similar climates. Thanks!

Bonsai Nut

Nuttier than your average Nut
Reaction score
USDA Zone
8a
Welcome to Bonsai Nut!

Are you looking for trees that can be kept in ambient lighting? Or are you willing to set up artificial lighting?

bubba1992

Seedling
Reaction score
Welcome to Bonsai Nut!

Are you looking for trees that can be kept in ambient lighting? Or are you willing to set up artificial lighting?

Hiya! I guess I hadn't thought about artificial lighting, but that could be an option if its relatively cheap and easy :) Thanks

Bonsai Nut

Nuttier than your average Nut
Reaction score
USDA Zone
8a
Unless you have a south-facing window, it is extremely difficult to keep trees in ambient lighting. Artificial lighting option opens up all kinds of options - particularly with the advent of LEDs.

bubba1992

Seedling
Reaction score
Unless you have a south-facing window, it is extremely difficult to keep trees in ambient lighting. Artificial lighting option opens up all kinds of options - particularly with the advent of LEDs.

Unfortunately I have an East facing window. Do you know where I can get some more information/pricing on artificial lighting? Thanks

jeanluc83

Omono
Reaction score
USDA Zone
6a