Which olive tree looks better?

szachy113

Seedling
Reaction score
Hi everyone, I'm currently buying a bonsai tree. I looked at many different species, but the European olive tree one convinces me badly. I just love it. However, in the shop there are two of them. Both look good in my opinion, but I'm a newbie and it'll be my first one, so... I'll ask You. Which one of these two looks better, do you think? They're 13 years old each and cost the same, too. Thanks in advance! 🙏🏻

1.jpg2.jpg

hemmy

Omono
Reaction score
USDA Zone
6a
For me, probably #2 on the age and character of the deadwood. Notice that most of the trunk appears dead and the growth is coming from a live portion behind the trunk. But it would probably be the more challenging design.

I’d recommend #1 for a beginner. It has more branches for more styling options. It appears taller, which has a larger tree will make the leaf size better in proportion.

szachy113

Seedling
Reaction score
For me, probably #2 on the age and character of the deadwood. Notice that most of the trunk appears dead and the growth is coming from a live portion behind the trunk. But it would probably be the more challenging design.

I’d recommend #1 for a beginner. It has more branches for more styling options. It appears taller, which has a larger tree will make the leaf size better in proportion.
Hi! 🙂 Thanks for your answer. I greatly appreciate it. What would be the "more challenging" part in your opinion? Like... more difficult to grow / keep it alive?

Their height is the same, at least that's what the shop says (36cm, not counting the pot).

szachy113

Seedling
Reaction score
I like #2 more than the first one. More trunk movement, nicer pot, deadwood, & some nebari. It's close to christmas so buy both! :)
Haha! 😁 Yeah, the pot. I like it more too!

I'm just scared that it will die somehow. I don't know... deadwood sounds deadly, risky. Is this even a possibility?

Reaction score
USDA Zone
6a