White Microscopic larvae on my Chinese Elm's leaves

ficusmania

Sapling
Reaction score
USDA Zone
I have noted that the leaves have started to cover with tiny white spots which is spreading very quickly with most of the leaves falling after few days and new steams dying. I have decided to take a few photos with my camera and I have noted that the spots appears to be tiny larvae.

Does anyone know what pest does it have and how can I give it a solution? I'm concerned that if I do not act soon the tree will not survive for long as it is spreading very quickly. I sprayed the leaves with peroxide + water but I did not see any improvement..

Thanks!

Screenshot 2022-08-05 at 20.16.40.pngScreenshot 2022-08-05 at 20.17.08.png

Attachments

• Screenshot 2022-08-05 at 20.17.28.png
    Screenshot 2022-08-05 at 20.17.28.png
    327 KB · Views: 46
Reaction score
Hey There,

I'm a beginner as well so please take this comment with a grain of salt. Defer to more experienced bonsai growers on here as I also need to post my own issue with my elm.

For me, I have an issue with small spider mites infesting my bonsai and because they are so prolific I liberally use neem oil treatment (one capful to a large spray bottle of water) as it's daily watering just to keep the mites under control.

The mites even slightly affected my juniper which despite keeping 7-8 feet away (their closeness in the picture is just for the picture) and has a few mites on them.

That said my elm is still alive despite weeks of a similar infestation and it turning a shade of red/brown.

I super gently knicked the cambrium and it showed green that and I believe there are new branches.

I will have to switch environments because the balcony is likely too hot and sunny, a perfect environment for spider mites and I need to keep it away from spider mites.

Anyways you should look into neem oil and defer to experienced growers. I think it's the only reason why it kept mine alive.
bonsai_20220713.jpg

penumbra