White Powdery substance on juniper

Millsarmy1

Seedling
Reaction score
Hi, I'm relatively new to the art and I'm discovering a white powdery substance on my juniper (juniperus procumbens) foliage. I'm not sure exactly what it is but I have my suspicions of fungus. I live in northern Alabama and is a mild climate in winter and I say hot in summer, being that I'm originally from PA lol. I attached a few pics for examples. Tree has been rotated indoor and outdoor based on temps. None of my other trees have this condition...currently. Any ideas or help would be greatly appreciated! 20190208_103423.jpg20190208_103015.jpg20190208_104553.jpg20181230_162826.jpg

Dav4

Drop Branch Murphy
Reaction score
SE MI- Bonsai'd for 12 years both MA and N GA
USDA Zone
6a
I doubt that your tree has a primary fungal issue... perhaps, the white stuff could be mineral deposits from watering? I do know that the climate of N. AL would never be severe enough to warrant bringing a procumbens indoors. They dig hot summers and laugh at temperatures at or below 0 F.

WesB

Mame
Reaction score
USDA Zone
There is a common product at most Walmarts or garden centers called Scott’s Fungicide 3. For about $5 you get a windex sized bottle of the stuff and just spray it on. It’s a pet friendly neem oil product and will take care of the majority of above the soil pests, mold or fungus. Perfect for those of us who don’t have a lot of trees. I spray 2-3 times a year for good measure.

Millsarmy1

Seedling
Reaction score
Dav4 thanks for the info. I was informed they are very hardy trees and can deal with a variety of temps and climates. I'd say 75%-85% of the year they are outside. I Bring them in for long stretches of heat for a few days at a time and recently we've been getting into the 20°s in the evening.

Millsarmy1

Seedling
Reaction score