Why do cutting tools have the nub?

Joe Dupre'

Omono
Reaction score
USDA Zone
9a
In low quality tools, the nub may not be in the exact right location, and it just can't do it's intended job. Then, yes it's just there for window dressing. I've been using the same pair of concave cutters for eight years now. They have a tiny, shiny contact point where the nub meets the handle. Unless you sharpen too aggressively or abuse the tool, I would guess the nub and the edge would wear at approx. the same rate and be kind of self-regulating. If you have the need to adjust the edge contact, CAREFUL, slight filing of the handle contact point would be my choice.

vancehanna

Chumono
Reaction score
USDA Zone
9A
Simple: that little projection is a stop to keep the two blades from hard contact.
The concave cutter has this feature.
When a mandible tool is sharpened one blade overlaps the other thus the name.
The stop or what this group is calling a nub is just that: a stop.
It keeps the blade from hard contact of the matching blade so as to reduce the contact.
It is a a skilled job in sharpening this type of tool being careful to keep the overbite blade from damaging the underbite.
For the record: there is no“mold”.
What is present are dies. The left side is the tool will hold the stop (nub).
The steel is from a billet and is the rough form of each side of the tool.
Each one (red hot) is separately placed into the die and under tons of pressure the forging process takes place. Think of it like a giant hammer slamming into the work. The metal is expressed, that is forced into shape.
There are what we call prog dies: progressive dies are where the part travels from station to station taking shape slowly into the nearly finished side of the tool.
The pieces are trimmed, surface ground and ready to receive the stop (nub).

The left side that has the stop will be drilled and the hole will be forged (slammed)