Willow stick in a pot

Cattwooduk

Shohin
Reaction score
Right so this I guess is my first actual stick I can say is anything remotely bonsai, or at least a start point.
It's not much (at all) but I'm just happy it survived and made it into a training pot. Last summer I cut a branch from a tree my granddad planted years ago, left it in a bucket of water to root and then potted it up, left it over winter. Half of the top died back so it was left with 3 feeble little shoots. Last year in the bucket it grew crazy amounts of shoots, but willow grows kinda crazy which is partly why I decided it would be a good freebie experiment.

Anyway I noticed it started popping buds so thought it would be a good place to start my first ever repotting.
I didn't need to wire the 3 shoots at all but I started playing as I don't have anything else to do yet with any other material!

It looks like the bottom cut is callusing over fine, and it had grown so many fine roots I felt ok cutting back about 1/3 and taking off some of the ones growing higher up the trunk since there is basically nothing to support at the other end of the stick. It has a couple of bits which haven't thrown out any roots but I'm guessing this is fine as there are so many around the rest of it.
No idea what my plan is yet, there's nothing to it at the moment so I'll leave it and see how much growth it throws out and it might actually give me some options!

IMG_20170225_224926637.jpg IMG_20170225_224937935.jpg IMG_20170225_224806245.jpg
IMG_20170225_231954772.jpg

IMG_20170225_232009982.jpg

AlainK

Imperial Masterpiece
Reaction score
USDA Zone
9A
To me, the lines are much too straight. Straight trunk, straight branch, then twisted twigs? Doesn't look natural.

I would cut it just below the first branch to make a new cutting.

Cattwooduk

Shohin
Reaction score