• Bonsaiboy's Garden Desktop Grow Light

Votes: 0 0.0%

• Total voters

ChunkPa772

Seed
Reaction score
USDA Zone
7A
Hey everyone this is my first post to this form and I am very new to bonsai and I have a question about lighting during the winter.

I received a 6 year old juniper procumbens nana for a early Christmas gift, I know that i need to put it in dormancy for the season ASAP and I am going to put it in the garage. During the winter its anywhere between 25 to 60 degrees in there the only problem is there is almost no light in there. I have found 2 lights that I think would be good and I would like to know your feedback on them.

Hydrofarm JSV2 2-Foot Jump Start T5 Grow Light System;
https://www.amazon.com/dp/B0006856E...lid=3HWUKQ5833NLA&coliid=I26OI56W8ATNNK&psc=1

Bonsaiboy's Garden Desktop Grow Light;
https://www.amazon.com/dp/B002C6F38...TF8&colid=3HWUKQ5833NLA&coliid=I25IBWQ2Y5XRP9

Your feedback on these lights and any other winterization tips would be greatly appreciated.

Keith m

Seedling
Reaction score
I don't give any of my trees any light through there dormancy. I have never had any problems with them.

A. Gorilla

Omono
Reaction score
USDA Zone
5b
If you received it during dormancy, it doesn't need light.

If this was plucked out of a warm and lighted greenhouse in which it never actually went dormant, I'm not entirely sure you can just induce a meaningful dormancy at this time of year. That's a transition which is more complicated than just suddenly putting it somewhere cold.

ChunkPa772

Seed
Reaction score
USDA Zone
7A
If you received it during dormancy, it doesn't need light.

If this was plucked out of a warm and lighted greenhouse in which it never actually went dormant, I'm not entirely sure you can just induce a meaningful dormancy at this time of year. That's a transition which is more complicated than just suddenly putting it somewhere cold.