Wintering Freshly Collected Aspen

Neopan

Seedling
Reaction score
USDA Zone
5?
Hello Everyone!

I am new to the forums and site so I suppose I should introduce myself; I live in Toronto and like most my access point to bonsai many years ago was small Chinatown Juniper which I promptly killed by trying to keep it as a houseplant. Much time has passed and with much reading, research and experimentation.... I am a slightly more knowledgeable amateur :) I have a collected honeysuckle I have been training for around 6-7 years, am growing some Trident maple (I believe at least) from seed to start as a Kabudachi style clump (thank you Eisei-en) and a nursery find Blue Atlas Cedar with some good bones.

I am looking for some advice on an Aspen I had collected about a month and a half ago. This was the wrong time of year to collect and I feel quite badly about it, I won't be making the same mistake again. The tree experienced shock, and dropped most of its leaves; there was some dieback. That being said I think the worst is over, and there are still many live shoots/branches.

The question is Wintering; My other Deciduous drops its leaves and happily lives in the garage over winter, and wakes up fine every spring. This Aspen being collected too late in the year hasn't had time to fully recover, and grow new roots. I had also read that Aspen continue to grow throughout winter, and I can assume would have need for light all year round, which makes me hesitant to bring it inside and put it in a cold cellar for the winter. I think these are my options;

1. Leave it outside where it can get proper light, but risk killing it from the cold.
2. Bring it inside where it will be away from the cold and risk killing it due to lack of light.

( cold cellar is cool at 15degrees but may not be cold enough, as well I can build a cold box outside to keep the frost out)

Thanks so much for all of your help in advance!

IMG_3340.jpgIMG_3341.jpgIMG_3342.jpgIMG_0337.JPG

sorce

Nonsense Rascal