Wiring Hinoki Cypress

Reaction score
USDA Zone
7a
I got this Hinoki from a club member last fall. Knowing they don't backbud, I was afraid to do much to it and it just grew wild last year. I decided to try my hand wiring it last night because I need the practice bad, esp with copper wire. The wiring is not great, had to cross those wires at the first ranch because I didn't want to start over a third time. I also noticed that the end branches had dozens of new shoots that required extensive thinning. Hopefully with practice my wiring will get better but for now I think it's enough that I put some movement in and opened up some inner foliage. I plan to try to chase that lower foliage back as much as I can and keep wiring movement over the next couple seasons to make those branches appear shorter. There may also be some candidates for new leaders on those lower branches as time goes by. I welcome and critique or advice but as this is my first try as wiring this much tree, please be gentle!

Before
IMG_20181023_174531.jpg

After
IMG_20181023_193556.jpg

Reaction score
USDA Zone
7a
This is really good stuff, thank you. Obviously I need to rewire this tree. Would it be more beneficial for the tree to leave the wire on as is and just use better technique next time I wire it?

TN_Jim

Omono
Reaction score
USDA Zone
7a
First, forgive that I really have no idea what i'm talking about, especially because I have no Hinoki...keep looking at them though. I hope somebody says off or way off.

Remove wire? -If it's not broke, why remove wire now? Why not? Let it breathe?

@cheap_walmart_art, are you thinking rewire this fall?

Here's where I was thinking about this tree with obvious potential, or basic elements that I think about a lot; because, while my trees do not really have such basic elements, but something similar, there is a same relative confusion and questions when I look this Hinoki.