Wisteria Leaves Turning Yellow

TN Jim

Sapling
Reaction score
USDA Zone
7a
Greetings. I am new to Chinese Wisteria and wanted to post on here to see if anyone had advice on why my leaves are beginning to yellow. Watering habits have not changed, fertilizer regimen is steady. I thought it might be Aphids and sprayed Sevin Ornamental/Flower spray (Had a Japanese Beetle issue as well).

I read it might be soil acidity and have not checked it yet, plan on purchasing a tester tomorrow since I do not have one yet.

What am I missing? Thanks.

Jim

Attachments

• IMG_3303.jpg
    IMG_3303.jpg
    200.7 KB · Views: 48
  • IMG_3304.jpg
    IMG_3304.jpg
    188.3 KB · Views: 52
  • IMG_3305.jpg
    IMG_3305.jpg
    195.9 KB · Views: 44

Eric Schrader

Chumono
Reaction score
USDA Zone
10a
Looks like you have irrigation scale on some of the leaves. That makes me think that your water is not ideal for container growing. Have you had your water tested? The combination of high pH (8.0-9.0 typically) and high concentrations of calcium can cause other micro nutrients to not be available to the plant.

If you don't want to go to all the trouble of sending your water off for a test, then try letting us know more about your growing and fertilization regimen so we could make intelligent suggestions regarding what could be missing. Micro-nutrient upatake problems seems to be the most likely explanation but it's hard to tell exactily what is missing.

Nice chicken!

Last edited:

TN Jim

Sapling
Reaction score
USDA Zone
7a
Eric,

Thanks for the response. I have not had my water tested. I didn't think of that to be honest. Are you referring to the white on the leaves or the brownish discoloration? The white is the Sevin.

I use a diluted miracle-grow mix (roughly 3/4 scoop per watering can) and a Scotts Flower granule 10-10-10 every two months.

It is producing shoots and growing pretty good other than the yellowing. I'll check the Ph today and let you know. Thanks again for the help.