Wisteria Mosaic Virus?

Rateeluck

Yamadori
Reaction score
USDA Zone
7a
Hello,

I purchased 5 japanese wisteria sprigs in early spring and 2 of them are showing signs of the virus. The green near the center stem is almost see through. I thought maybe a disease or critters, didn't see any critters though. I'm not experienced enough to diagnose such things so any help is appreciated. Thanks

20210427_194813.jpg20210427_194803.jpg20210427_194759.jpg20210427_194755.jpg20210427_192559.jpg20210427_192604.jpg20210427_192555.jpg20210427_192548.jpg

Leo in N E Illinois

The Professor
Reaction score
on the IL-WI border, a mile from ''da Lake''
USDA Zone
5b
Plant virus can not be diagnosed from appearance alone. One uses appearance to make a guess, but the only way to diagnose with certainty is to perform a immunoassay test. There are test kits available, I am not current on prices.
This company provides both test kits for specific viruses and has a testing lab where you can send them samples. We used them when we owned a farm. Not for bonsai specifically. This company makes test kits for blueberry viruses, orchid viruses and viruses for a wide array of agricultural crops. They also make test kits to detect GMO plants. Want to know if your corn, apples or rutabagas are GMO, their test kits tests for the signature transgenic virus particles used to move around DNA.

Every County in the USA has a USDA Farm Extension Office. The Extension service is usually administered by your local Land Grant University. For example Michigan State University is the Land Grant University for Michigan. University of Illinois at Champaign-Urbana is the Land Grant University for Illinois. Each county will have an Extension Agent who specializes in plant diseases. You might put a call into your local extension office and see what they say about diagnosing your problem or whether they have a local lab that can diagnose the problem for you.