work station questions

Borg

Yamadori
Reaction score
USDA Zone
9/8
When setting up your bonsai work station, what type of stand do you use? Is a "lazy suzan" acceptable? The reason I ask is, I got one last weekend for $1.00, and thought it would be great for getting a good handle on how my trees look all the way around while working on them. I am still very new to bonsai, and am currently working with very little supplies and sub-par tools my father got me years ago from Amazon...
Speaking of tools, what would you suggest as good beginner tools that aren't crap?

Pointers and guidance are greatly appreciated.

Bunjeh

Chumono
Reaction score
USDA Zone
8a
A $100 dollar paint brush does not make you a master. Tools are just and extension of the artist. Develop what is within first. You will find the right tools as you go along.

But a $1.00 lazy Susan is a damn good start.

Nwaite

Chumono
Reaction score
USDA Zone
All I have is a $1 lazy Susan and it works great... what ever helps hone your skills!

I figured there no point in spending tons of cash until I have to or or I feel more confident that I will be sticking with this live stile.

Stickroot

Masterpiece
Reaction score
USDA Zone
When setting up your bonsai work station, what type of stand do you use? Is a "lazy suzan" acceptable? The reason I ask is, I got one last weekend for $1.00, and thought it would be great for getting a good handle on how my trees look all the way around while working on them. I am still very new to bonsai, and am currently working with very little supplies and sub-par tools my father got me years ago from Amazon...
Speaking of tools, what would you suggest as good beginner tools that aren't crap?

These are the tools you need! image.jpgThey are lifetime guaranteed.

sorce

Nonsense Rascal
Reaction score
USDA Zone
Just don't try wiring on the spinner.

I found one! Mine was less than a dollar!

Sorce

M. Frary

Bonsai Godzilla
Reaction score
USDA Zone