Yamadori Chinese Elm newbie help

diegazo

Seedling
Reaction score
USDA Zone
9 a
Hi everyone, this is my first attempt at bonsai and I started with a Yamadori 3 months ago and I already got some life into this Chinese elm... So far so good, I think the tree is out of the woods. I live in Los Angeles and the tree is outdoors. It rarely goes below 50 F in the winter so I'm thinking it would stay outside this winter or should I bring it indoors? I do have a small nursery with lights and fans and at home, the temps run about 73 F during the winter.
I've attached some pics of the current state of the Elm tree. So my questions are the following:

1. Should i leave the tree do it's thing and develop a strong set of roots over the winter outside?
2. Right now it's not much of a bonsai but merely a potensai surviving. Any ideas as to when to cut those ugly branches to begin training? Once I cut the big ones, can I use wood glue to cover the wounds? Any suggestions on styling?

Attachments

• IMG_1847.jpg
    IMG_1847.jpg
    210.9 KB · Views: 58
  • IMG_1848.jpg
    IMG_1848.jpg
    127.5 KB · Views: 60
  • IMG_1849.jpg
    IMG_1849.jpg
    90.2 KB · Views: 55
  • IMG_1850.jpg
    IMG_1850.jpg
    211.1 KB · Views: 55

sorce

Nonsense Rascal
Reaction score
USDA Zone
Yeah just leave it now.

It may suffer in full long sun.

Welcome to Crazy!

Sorce

Reaction score
USDA Zone
10?
i
Hi everyone, this is my first attempt at bonsai and I started with a Yamadori 3 months ago and I already got some life into this Chinese elm... So far so good, I think the tree is out of the woods. I live in Los Angeles and the tree is outdoors. It rarely goes below 50 F in the winter so I'm thinking it would stay outside this winter or should I bring it indoors? I do have a small nursery with lights and fans and at home, the temps run about 73 F during the winter.
I've attached some pics of the current state of the Elm tree. So my questions are the following: