Yamadori - Collect or let it stay in the ground as long term project?

Jamadåre

Seed
Reaction score
So i'm totally new to bonsai I would be happy if you could give me some advice. A couple of hundred meters from where I live I have the opportunity to collect som trees (mainly birch - Betula pubescens ) from the wild. A couldn't find any tree that was ready to bring home and start working on right away but I think some might be good if I gave it a couple of years. So my questions is rather simple, should I just leave them in the ground and cut them where they grow? And if that is a good idea, do you have any advice where I should cut them? All pictures are potential trees I can collect and cut if advisable. 1-3 Birch, 4 Pinus Sylvestrus 5 Picea abies 6 Oak

Attachments

• 1.jpg
    1.jpg
    473.5 KB · Views: 79
  • 7.jpg
    7.jpg
    440.5 KB · Views: 78
  • 5.jpg
    5.jpg
    421 KB · Views: 77
  • 8.jpg
    8.jpg
    513.2 KB · Views: 78
  • 6.jpg
    6.jpg
    441.8 KB · Views: 78
  • 4.jpg
    4.jpg
    418.7 KB · Views: 77

NOZZLE HEAD

Shohin
Reaction score
USDA Zone
8b
If you leave them in the ground they may not develop in a way that makes for good trees. Especially if really poor conditions where they are has stunted them to their current interesting shape, they may just die, or turn into telephone poles.

That said. In the area where I collect trees there are a few that I have pruned to develop more interest and just go back every month or so to see what’s up.

Igor. T. Ljubek

Yamadori
Reaction score
USDA Zone
7b