Yamadori oak trunk chop question

Fonz

Chumono
Reaction score
USDA Zone
8b
I have access to a bunch of oak trees that are growing in forest owned by my mother. I'm new to this so excuse me if this all sounds stupid but here we go anyway.

My question is if it's possible to do trunk chops on some of these Oaks? Keep in mind that no root work has been done, they are about 4-5 metres (13-16ft) tall, have a trunk base varying from 5-10 cm (2-4") and they all are standing in very shaded places.

One of my concerns is the shade will not allow to let the chopped trunk survive.

Any advise on what's possible or what I should do best is much appreciated.

I've attached some pics.

Pic 1: 4" trunk
Pic 2: 2" trunk
Pic 3: 4" trunk with some deadwood

IMG_20170720_141532.jpg IMG_20170720_142153.jpg IMG_20170720_143339.jpg

BrianBay9

Masterpiece
Reaction score
USDA Zone
You could start by chopping back to the lowest live limb / foliage and see how the trees react. Not likely to kill them this way, and they may back bud much lower in response, which would allow another chop lower down.

Fonz

Chumono
Reaction score
USDA Zone
8b
So when would be a good time to do this? I read somewhere that late spring or the beginning of the summer is adviced...

rockm

Spuds Moyogi
Reaction score
USDA Zone
Rule of thumb it is not good to trunk chop and leave the tree where it is in temperate forest conditions -- at least here in the eastern U.S. Generally, the loss of the top growth kills off the roots, because the new growth that is produced can't support the root mass.

Generally, the top is given a rough chop when the tree is collected. European collectors have begun collecting oaks in the summer and are having more success than spring collection.

Fonz

Chumono
Reaction score
USDA Zone
8b
So basically I should give the top a rough chop, dig out the tree, prune the roots and put it in a big pot within the next month or so?

rockm

Spuds Moyogi
Reaction score
USDA Zone