Yay, another tool thread (possible sarcasm)

that-guy

Sapling
Reaction score
USDA Zone
8A
I am a beginner at this and I read other posts but I am still unsure of what tools to get. In your opinion should I get a set or get tools individually? Also what type of metal is best, and where should I get them from? I already know I at least need some concave cutters and I should get Japanese tools. But should I get some other things as well or wait until I need them? (I will need wire cutters) What sou you guys think/recommend? :confused:

yenling83

Omono
Reaction score
It depends on what type of work you will be doing and what type of trees you will be working on.

The most common tools I use on a reg basis are Wire Pliers(used when wiring and de-wiring, to tighten trees into the pot and guy wire), wire cutters and scissors. If I could do it over again and I might recommend to myself some inexpensive pliers from the hardware store, ARS scissors(should be around $20-30, made in Japan good quality steel used for cutting grapes) or Kaneshin scissors and then a Kaneshin med or large size wire cutter from ebay.

I'd also invest in some wet stones to sharpen my scissors. After this i'd start buying tools as needed. The two brands I have come to mostly buy are Kaneshin off ebay and Masakuni from California Bonsai Studio. You can't really gone wrong with either of these brands with masakuni generally being slightly higher quality and price.

Stainless steel usually does not rust while the black steel does rust, but I believe maintains an edge slightly longer. I usually go with non stainless, althought I might recommend Stainless for repotting tools as they get wet more often than non-stainless. Hope that helped.

Poink88

Imperial Masterpiece
Reaction score
USDA Zone
8b
I second ARS...it is worth the extra bucks you'll pay for it.

About the cutters, IMHO Joshua Roth offers great value, but also like my Masakuni, Kaneshin, etc. :D

Ron Dennis

Shohin
Reaction score
USDA Zone
7B