Yellowing leaves, growing tree.

Hartinez

Masterpiece
Reaction score
USDA Zone
Ive got a vining Bougie that I've been training for a few years now. The leaves are quite large but the trunk and bark are wonderful. I quite like it. Over winter I lost all of last years growth and basically started from scratch. This year however all of my growth has been yellow with green veins. Ive read online that there may be a magnesium or iron deficiency. Any thoughts or suggestions on a solution? I read that epsom salt which is high in magnesium can be applied with fertilizer to help. I'm including a picture of the tree this time last year and this year.IMG_2321.JPGIMG_0840.JPG

Hartinez

Masterpiece
Reaction score
USDA Zone
I’m going with iron deficiency. I’ll try Ironite and see what happens. Thanks for all the great responses everyone! ???

coh

Imperial Masterpiece
Reaction score
USDA Zone
Did you see this thread? Is this Chlorosis

Looks similar to your situation. I can't offer much advice because I don't grow bougies, but it could be lots of things. Soil could be bad (not enough oxygen/roots not functioning well), soil/water pH could be off, could be iron or magnesium deficiency. You could try hitting it with some iron and some epsom salt and see how it responds. When was it last repotted, maybe worth evaluating the roots at the next opportunity.

Hartinez

Masterpiece
Reaction score
USDA Zone
Did you see this thread? Is this Chlorosis

Looks similar to your situation. I can't offer much advice because I don't grow bougies, but it could be lots of things. Soil could be bad (not enough oxygen/roots not functioning well), soil/water pH could be off, could be iron or magnesium deficiency. You could try hitting it with some iron and some epsom salt and see how it responds. When was it last repotted, maybe worth evaluating the roots at the next opportunity.