Yes, another soil question. From nursery container to bonsai soil

Salvarez

Mame
Reaction score
USDA Zone
Good day,

I am just starting out my collection of plants to Bonsai. Not sure why but I am bit nervous to start the transfer in the spring to bonsai soil. Keep in mind that this is coming from me, a landscape architect that owns a landscape business LOL!

Are there things that I need to be thinking about in regards to "Growing" and "refining?"

Simply put, in my mind I think to leave in nursery stock soil for growing and bonsai soil for refining? Then it leads me to believe that I can repot using landscape soil into slightly smaller training pots for growing and bonsai soil for the ladder.

Was anyone else nervous to do the transfer to bonsai soil? What should I be thinking about? Also to note, I have been working with @BillsBayou for soil.

Thanks for feedback, here is pics of what I have now to start working on in the future.

Sebastian

Attachments

• IMG_1539 Small.jpeg
    IMG_1539 Small.jpeg
    22.3 KB · Views: 72
  • IMG_1540 Small.jpeg
    IMG_1540 Small.jpeg
    26.4 KB · Views: 73
  • IMG_1541 Small.jpeg
    IMG_1541 Small.jpeg
    19.7 KB · Views: 62
  • IMG_1542 2 Small.jpeg
    IMG_1542 2 Small.jpeg
    24.2 KB · Views: 60
  • IMG_1543 Small.jpeg
    IMG_1543 Small.jpeg
    22.4 KB · Views: 59
  • IMG_1544 Small.jpeg
    IMG_1544 Small.jpeg
    27.1 KB · Views: 58
  • IMG_1545 2 Small.jpeg
    IMG_1545 2 Small.jpeg
    22.2 KB · Views: 54
  • IMG_1546 Small.jpeg
    IMG_1546 Small.jpeg
    21.9 KB · Views: 51
  • IMG_1547 Small.jpeg
    IMG_1547 Small.jpeg
    18.3 KB · Views: 74

Wulfskaar

Omono
Reaction score
USDA Zone
10a
I can only offer a bit of my limited experience. The two nursery trees (shishigashira maple and italian stone pine) that I have moved into bonsai soil have seemed to do well. I have also moved a number of seedlings into bonsai soil that are doing well too.