Yet Another Indoor Maple Question.

Servillius

Seed
Reaction score
USDA Zone
9a
Hey guys,

I’m new here and new to bonsai. I’m an experienced gardener however and I have over 30 years experience with large reef aquariums which I think is relevant in terms of my question, or at least I hope it is.

So I don’t really know what I’m doing, but I’m hoping as I learn I have a skill set I can fall back on to speed up the process.

Here’s the question. Can I grow Japanese maples indoors (okay, and crabapples, and some other stuff). I live in Houston and I can keep one or two happy in the garden but for most of them it’s just too hot and humid around here.

Now I’ve searched, and clearly the answer if I’m just sticking them in a window is no, no chance, heck no.

But I’ve spent a long time building artificial environments for things to live in and on the good days, they’ve been rather successful. So my question is exactly what do I have to replicate to make this work? Lightning is easy enough, I probably have the lights in my garage and I can get all the way up to full midday sun which would probably be too much. I can either use a fridge, or get fancy and use chillers and humidifiers for winter, and controllers to mimic the cycles.

But I have no idea what cycles to mimic! I know I need winter chill, but how do I figure out how much? Or a good lighting estimate? What don’t I know that I’ll need to replicate? Will I need to vary summer temps or is 75 good enough? Does there need to be a difference between day and night temp? If so, how much? How long do winter nights need to be? How the heck do I find all this out?

Servillius

Seed
Reaction score
USDA Zone
9a
Oh here’s another one. What temperature should I measure? Is it the ground temp that determines the plants chill state? The air temp?

Bnana

Chumono
Reaction score
USDA Zone
I think Japanese maples would be fine outside in winter. Summer is very hot but inside with lights is possible.