Yet another novice here :-)

JMCollins925

Seedling
Reaction score
Greetings all! So, yes, another novice in search of knowledge here. I recently purchased a Chinese Elm pre-bonsai as a starter ($30.) It was shipped from California to here in Pennsylvania and arrived last week. So in one week it went from all green to a majority of yellow leaves. All of the yellow leaves have dropped away. I think it may be the shock from shipping. I've followed the light/water/feeding instructions closely. Hopefully I haven't killed it in one week.
I have received so much varying advice on the care. Indoor, outdoor, dormancy, watering...all over. It makes my head spin as a newcomer. Some people are genuinely helpful and then some people are condescending with their advice.
I was hoping to have an indoor tree to start with. I cannot put together a whole infrastructure outside just yet and I don't have much of a planting option. Can I get some solid advice or a lead in the right direction? Any help is greatly appreciated.

Elm progression 1 week.jpg

Woocash

Omono
Reaction score
Welcome! I’ve never had a bonsai shipped but there’s all kinds of things to take into account like temperature shifts in shipping, a new climate, the fact that its inside now and not out. It’s quite a bit colder in Pennsylvania I’d have thought, right? It may just think winter has come, albeit a bit late. They’re pretty resilient things though. You may want to think about a grow light or at the very least put it in your brightest window. Long term though, it will be better outside, but right now the shock might be a bit much, considering temperature shift etc.

Hopefully I’ve not muddied the water or given false advice, but I’m sure one of the old hats will put me right if I have. Everyone’s really helpful here so you’re in the right place anyway.

penumbra

Imperial Masterpiece
Reaction score
USDA Zone