Yet another novice here :-)

JMCollins925

Seedling
Reaction score
👍 Wigert's has a lot of great material, and reasonably priced. (Not talking about the specimen plants for sale) They are also really helpful, if you are looking for something specific. Andrea there is awesome.
Thank you Carol!

WNC Bonsai

Omono
Reaction score
USDA Zone
7b
I have a BRT I got from Brussels (via Amazon) last spring and it grew well over the summer. When I brought it inside in October I put it next to my patio door on a SW facing aspect and it has done well so far without additional lighting or bottom heat, but then I am a bit south of you! It has only dropped a few leaflets, mostly inside ones that were older and more shaded. It hasn’t grown any but it is doing what I would expect of a tropical in this setting. Mine thickened up quite a bit over the summer from pencil thick to at least thumb thickness. I recommend you try one although you will have to wait until late spring to get one unless you find them locally. When I ordered mine they would not sell me one until after the threat of freezing weather had passed.

Bolero

Omono
Reaction score
Well your first mistake was buying from California where the little Elm has been living...You are in PA so buy from an East Coast vendor with a similar growing climate.....you have probably killed it or at least seriously shocked it.
Try to replicate the CA climate at your place & be sure the roots are getting water and are not dryed out, if not wired in you can most likely lift, by the trunk, out of the pot to examine the roots.
Chinese Elm are generally considered fairly hardy, however your radical climate change is having an ill effect on your little Elm......

GGB

Masterpiece
Reaction score
USDA Zone
7a
Another PA brother! welcome man. Elm aren't my thing but deciduous stuff is pretty fun. Don't give us too much credit, plenty of folks on here while misinform. Me included once in a while, by accidnet hah. fact check

rockm

Spuds Moyogi