Young Itoigawa

fexef

Seedling
Reaction score
Hey, I managed to get my hands on a few little Itoigawa. Since I am relatively new to bonsai I wanted to ask what would be the next steps to growing them bigger. They are around 15-20cm I would say maybe 2yo but don't really know? I read that a bigger pot might be a good idea for faster growth, if so, would you recomend switching to a bigger pot? The current ones are: 8cm wide and 10cm in height. I also wonder if an Air Pot or Colander would be a good idea?
Or am I thinking too much an should just let them grow untouched this summer?
Thanks in advance

Attachments

• 20210220_124722.jpg
    20210220_124722.jpg
    97.6 KB · Views: 32
  • 20210220_124535.jpg
    20210220_124535.jpg
    125.9 KB · Views: 29

Brian Van Fleet

Pretty Fly for a Bonsai Guy
Reaction score
USDA Zone
8A
Air pots and calendars are not useful for growing out a juniper. If you want it to be bigger, you need to get it growing strong. Can you plant it in the ground? If so, you will start to see some noticeable thickening in year 3, but they really need to be allowed to run wild for a few years to put on some wood. As an example, cuttings the size of yours, in the ground for the last 8 years have resulted in 3”+ trunks (top 2), but are also nearly 6 feet wide. The nearer two are probably 3 years in the ground from cuttings.51558371-CAA6-4A68-B479-BCBF2F6074C7.jpeg

Njyamadori

Chumono
Reaction score
I’m also a beginner and If I were you I would definitely watch this video. It’s one of my favorite videos. Click Here

sorce

Nonsense Rascal
Reaction score
USDA Zone
Welcome to Crazy!

Sorce

Wires_Guy_wires

Imperial Masterpiece
Reaction score
I'm growing mine in pots. It's a bit slower compared to ground growing. But they're gaining momentum!

fexef

Seedling
Reaction score