Young nursery stock Acer Palmatum 'Miwa'

Alcam

Yamadori
Reaction score
Hi everyone,

I picked up this young nursery stock Acer Palmatum 'Miwa' yesterday, and I'm quite happy with its shape and graft. I'm a beginner, as I'm sure you can already tell, so I'm not worried about it turning into a masterpiece; it's a starter tree that I'm happy to learn on. Having said this, I have some questions for you veterans out there:

1) With everything I've ever found at local nurseries, this graft is the best I've seen in our area (Vancouver Island). How does the graft look to you? Will the graft ever begin to blend in when it's started well in the beginning (if this is, in fact, a good one), or do they tend to look more pronounced as time goes on? (I'm not terribly concerned, as, like I said, this tree isn't going to be a masterpiece, but I am curious to know more from all of you as to how grafts progress over time. Also, I'm certainly open to air layering above the graft one day, if that's a possibility.

2) I can't find any 'Miwa' bonsai examples online, but its interesting leaves and elegant shape are very appealing to me. Does anyone have any experience with a JM Miwa?

3) With its variety in mind, I'm not the biggest fan of lowering JM branches like many people do. I much prefer the elegant up and out technique to make it look as realistic in nature as possible. As you can tell in the photo, I put some light and loose wiring on some branches to put them into slightly better positions, with very little effort at all. I've read online that this time of year is totally fine to do it, especially when what I've done was very minimal to the tree, but knowing that this time of year the tree is building its vascular tissue, maybe the risk of scarring increases this time of year? (I definitely do not want any of that.)