Young Pinus Radiata development

Blox

Seedling
Reaction score
Hey guys. So this is my first post here. I'm really new to this so bear with me XD Okay so I grew this pinus Radiata from seed 2 years ago and now I'm seriously wondering what to do with it. I've hardly done anything on it as I've been scared to mess it up too much (it's basically impossible for me to find pine material here in South Africa, and I don't want to buy expensive black pines from the local nursery just yet) anyway, it seems that there is a lot of bar branching and I should probably make a choice now.

sorce

Nonsense Rascal
Reaction score
USDA Zone
I think you can find a lot of good info on developing Black pines to use for the styling of this initial development.

What to keep and not...

@Eric Schrader has a good thread here..

And @Brian Van Fleet has an article on how blog....or a book.?

I don't pine much, except for Bass!

Sorce

Blox

Seedling
Reaction score
I'll check those out, was thinking of maybe chopping to the first branches and using one as the leader and the other as the first branch.

Leo in N E Illinois

The Professor
Reaction score
on the IL-WI border, a mile from ''da Lake''
USDA Zone
5b
My knowledge of Pinus radiata is only "internet knowledge", but I suspect you are not going to get many replies with first hand knowledge from the USA. They are only used occasionally in the USA. In Australia and New Zealand I believe they are used a little more often for bonsai. Mainly because they are fairly similar to the Japanese Black Pine, only P. radiata is less tolerant of cold temperatures and have somewhat more coarse features than JBP.