Zone 9b/10a Native Trees

Deci22

Yamadori
Reaction score
USDA Zone
9b
Ok...so this is my first post, I'm a newbie and I live in zone 9b/10a. I got a Chinese Elm for my Birthday and I am obsessed, not necessarily with styling right now, tho that looks interesting and fun :) I am obsessed with propagation, and growth lol. I am in love with the fact that alot of normal trees can be grown into bonsai. I cant leave the house without making bonsai's out of the trees around here (in my mind), so I've been looking at working with some native trees. Anyone have any experience with a Florida Strangler Fig? there is an enourmous one in my yard and i adore the way the "trunk" looks with its intertwined exposed roots. Are these difficult to grow as Bonsai? how about propagation? would a branch work or air layering?

Since I'm a newblet and I'm still learning, anyone know of any local trees to central west Florida? that might be on the hardy side?

Thanks!!

D

SWfloirda

Chumono
Reaction score
USDA Zone
10a
I am pretty sure a Ficus Aurea will propagate easily with either air layer or cuttings. I have one that I found discarded in a pot, it will be difficult for bonsai. Big leaves, grows too aggressively, etc. but I am trying for the fun of it.
Shotcut_00_08_07_633.jpg
How close are you to North Fort Myers? You should take a trip to Wigerts if it is not too far.

Cajunrider

Imperial Masterpiece
Reaction score
USDA Zone
9A