Another newbie growing from seed - 1 year on (Ireland)

Rcarter15

Seed
Reaction score
Hi all,

Hands up I’m a complete newbie at this, I was given a seed kit last year and figured I’d see what happened. I had a total of 5 grow, unfortunately I thought 3 were weeds (Japanese Black Pines) so I let my kids look after those for the week they lived. The last 2 (Jacaranda) I’ve looked after for the past year and they’ve grown reasonably well (see pics). I’ve had to top them this weekend as they had an aphid invasion but I think it’s under control.

My real question is what now? When should I start to train them? How do I make them smaller back to bonsai size? Or do they need more time to thicken? Trunks still seem pretty thin?

Thanks for any advice

Richard

Attachments

• eedba141-2bb6-4b88-9631-0178073f3a5b.jpeg
    eedba141-2bb6-4b88-9631-0178073f3a5b.jpeg
    320.6 KB · Views: 18
  • eedba141-2bb6-4b88-9631-0178073f3a5b.jpeg
    eedba141-2bb6-4b88-9631-0178073f3a5b.jpeg
    320.6 KB · Views: 20
  • IMG_0550.jpeg
    IMG_0550.jpeg
    196 KB · Views: 17
  • IMG_0551.jpeg
    IMG_0551.jpeg
    136.1 KB · Views: 18
For idea, I’m being very optimistic and aiming for the attached lol

Attachments

• IMG_0552.jpeg
    IMG_0552.jpeg
    118.6 KB · Views: 14
Welcome to the forum!!. It would be good to know your location (write it in your profile).

I'm a beginner as well, but as I have a species that somehow has those same growing patterns, I'm gonna dare to give you some ideas (take all I say with a grain of salt).
I grew this albizia julibrissin, from seed, through "clip and grow" and wiring. I let it grow to the size you have right now. Then i chopped and begun again:
IMG_20211231_174221 (2).jpg

I let it grow for a year:

JMK_1845.jpg

and then prunned again,... and so on. Right now, after the last iteration:

JMK_3725.jpg

As I said, I think jacaranda grows with a similar pattern, so maybe my example is good for you...