How many roots before separating Shishigashira airlayering?

coopster23

Seedling
Reaction score
USDA Zone
8a
I started two air layerings on a Shishigashira JM in very early June (in east Idaho at the time).
The tree has been in Alabama since the first week of August. The smaller of the two failed; it looks like it had developed some small roots but stayed too wet and rotted. The other attempt was to separate the tree from its graft, and I'm pleased to see that as of a week or two ago, roots have become visible through the plastic bag.
The sphagnum ball is between the size of a fist and a baseball, and I see 5-6 root tips poking out of the moss. I'm getting kind of nervous about fall/winter approaching with the roots exposed. Is it too late to separate now, and if not do I have enough root for the tree to survive?

Hoyonokuma

Mame
Reaction score
USDA Zone
5b
I am no expert, by any mean, so take my opinion with an inch of salt😄

I did a check on my shishi groundlayer last year and decided it had developed too few roots, if compared to the foliage mass.
I also had much more soil at the cut level (3 to 4 times as much, with plenty akadama), meaning space to fill, while I also had storage capacity in my garage, hence a temperature controlled enviroment for overwintering.
So I decided to keep it on for an additional growing season, since I didn't have much risk of root rot and it could only improve its survival chances from there on.

I think that if you choose to separate it with the current rootball you should then do some serious branch reduction, too.

Tidal Bonsai

Omono
Reaction score
USDA Zone
7a
I started two air layerings on a Shishigashira JM in very early June (in east Idaho at the time).