What's it like to attend an Intensive program?

Adair M

Pinus Envy
Reaction score
USDA Zone
7a
I'm starting this thread as a discussion about bonsai education. In particular, the Intensive type of education where the student goes to the Master's location and works for a series of days on advanced material. These are usually a series where the student returns 3 or more times a year to do seasonal work, over a period of years.

It's the closest thing to being a bonsai apprentice as we have here in the USA.

I've been doing bonsai for 40 years. I started when I was 17. I saw a little trident maple at an Art Festival, and I've been hooked ever since. I took classes when I was in graduate school that taught me the basics of the styles, and took workshop from the traveling Masters when they came to town.

Two years ago, I stepped it up a notch. I learned about the Intensive series that Boon and Ryan were giving, and I decided that if I ever wanted to raise my bonsai skills, this was the time, and this was the way to do it. I chose Boon over Ryan because I am primarily interested in JBP, and that's Boon's specialty. Ryan's program (from what I've heard from two friends who attend them) is also excellent.

What happens? Class is from 8:30 until 6. We start with watching Japanese language videos of Kimura or other artists. Boon gives commentary about the species, and other insights as they occur on the video. Then, Boon has handouts of educational material about wiring, propogating, styling, etc. We go over these in detail. After lunch is when we actually work on the trees. It's seasonal work.